Longos mansion


The Longos mansion (Greek: Μέγαρο Λόγγου), commonly known as the Red house (Κόκκινο Σπίτι) due to its red brick exterior, is a 3-storey house in Agias Sofias Square in the center of Thessaloniki. It was built in 1926 by architect Leonardo Gennari for the family of Grigorios Longos, a wealthy textile industrialist from Naousa. He later gave it to his brother, Ioannis and that is why it is known as Ioannis Longos mansion. In 1983 it was listed by the Greek ministry of Culture to be preserved.

Until 1992 on the ground floor there was a cafe called Ermis, frequented by retired teachers and professors. Today, in its place there is a restaurant called Kourdisto Gourouni (Clockwork Pig). In early 2014, Ivan Savvidis, the wealthy businessman and owner of football team PAOK FC, bought the house for 4 million euros. A store selling official merchandise of PAOK operates there now.

The Red House is connected with some urban legends and considered to be cursed. The company which undertook its construction went bankrupt a few months later and Longos' factory in Naousa was destroyed by a fire. As a result, rumors were created about suicides and ghosts in the abandoned mansion

source https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Longos_mansion



Lat: 40.632900238 - Lng: 22.945800781